Global Award for Entrepreneurship Research

Since its inception in 1996 the Global Award for Entrepreneurship Research has become firmly established as the foremost global award for research on entrepreneurship. This Prize is awarded annually and it consists of the statuette “The Hand of God”, created by Swedish Sculptor Carl Milles, and a Prize sum of 100,000 Euros.

img_globalawardThe organizations behind the Prize are the Swedish Entrepreneurship Forum (Entreprenörskapsforum), Swedish Governmental Agency for Innovation Systems (VINNOVA) and the Research Institute of Industrial Economics (IFN), and donor Stockholm Köpmansklubb.

The Award is given to a scholar who has produced scientific work of outstanding quality and importance, thereby giving a significant contribution to theory-building concerning entrepreneurship and small business development, the role and importance of new firm formation and the role of SMEs in economic development.

In 1996, the American David L. Birch was the first person to receive the Award, which then was called the International Award for Entrepreneurship and Small Business Research. The Swedish professor Bengt Johannisson, who received the Prize in 2008, was the 13th and last Winner of the Award under its original name. From 2009 the Award has changed names to the Global Award for Entrepreneurship Research.

Read more about the  Award on the official website

Award winners 1996-2015


2016 Philippe Aghion

2015 Sidney G. Winter

2014 Shaker Zahra

2013 Maryann Feldman

2012 Kathleen M. Eisenhardt

2011 Steven Klepper

2010 Josh Lerner

2009 Scott A. Shane

2008 Bengt Johannisson

2007 The Diana Project

2006 Israel M. Kirzner

2005 William B. Gartner

2004 Paul D. Reynolds

2003 William J. Baumol

2002 Giacomo Becattini and Charles F. Sabel

2001 Zoltan J. Acs and David B. Audretsch

2000 Howard E. Aldrich

1999 Ian C. MacMillan

1998 David J. Storey

1997 Arnold C. Cooper

1996 David L. Birch

Följ oss på: